top of page

Blog Post 3

Throughout high school research reports were never my strongest ability in writing. I believe that one of the many reasons for this is because I struggled with choosing a specific topic and because of this it was difficult to elaborate on a topic. Therefore, after reading chapter five I found that where it mentions the guided process of choosing a topic to be very helpful. One point that stuck out to me was after listing everything that is on your mind is to apply questions to each of these topics. It helped me realize the importance of my high school English teacher giving me many questions to answer before writing an essay. Asking these question seems to be a great way figure what it is I want to express within my writing. Another valuable part in asking these questions is that if they cannot be answered it allows you to incorporate research. Once these questions are answered it will make it easier to begin a free write and get some ideas down on paper about the topic. Following this, and similar to the last blog post “Shitty First Drafts”, I can refine my writing until I get my desired result. This is a tactic I will definitely be applying to project 1 and projects to follow that.


bottom of page