top of page

Following My Passion

When I first decided to workout it was because I wanted to be in better shape for basketball. However, I found that I enjoyed working out more than I did playing basketball. So, come my junior year I decided to no longer play basketball and put more focus into working out. This is when I realized I have a strong passion for fitness. For the longest time basketball was my favorite thing to do. I would spend hours shooting or watching videos of ways to improve my game. So, when I gave this up for fitness I realized that it is definitely something I’m passionate about. In the beginning, I was just passionate about working out and making myself healthier. Even though this is still a passion of mine it has grown into really understanding how certain exercises affect the body and how I should approach nutrition, in order to, achieve my goals. Every day I seem to learn something new that seems valuable for improving myself. I have definitely learned a lot from watching inspirational figures, in the fitness community, on YouTube. Besides the basic inspiration or information they give about working out I was actually motivated by something else about them. This was their ability to have an impact on such a large number of individuals. It was intriguing to me that I could use my journey into fitness as a tool to help improve others’ lives. I was also inspired to see how much they have done in their lives because of their fitness success. Realizing that it was something I want in my life I began to think of all the ways I could start. However, it was easy for me to get caught up in thinking, “Oh, I need this camera before I start” or “I need my body to look this much better before I start.” I noticed that this thinking was getting me nowhere. If I kept thinking I needed to be at a certain position before starting I would never attack this dream of mine. So, instead of waiting until I get an amazing camera and all the tools to go with that or my goal physique I have decided to begin with my iPhone and a little mic and let people in on my journey. I am going to begin uploading videos on YouTube that I hope will inspire, educate and entertain individuals. This may be a very difficult task, but I am glad that I finally took the first step in my journey and that is producing the first video. I also encourage others to take their first step towards their passion whether it be with fitness, schooling or anything to is important to them because it is impossible to follow a passion if one never begins.


bottom of page