top of page

Blog Post 5

Going into the design of both of my projects for ENC 2135 I’ve found that determining the rhetorical situation of each piece was the tipping point of being confident with what I had decided I wanted to write about. As mentioned in Chapter 1 of The Bedford Book of Genres the rhetorical situation is basically the purpose of your writing and whom the writing is intended for. While reading about this section I found myself constantly comparing it to my own writing. I found myself asking questions such as, what is the purpose of my own writing and what audience do I intend my writing to have an impact on? Asking myself these questions allowed me to make note that I need to further develop my writing. If my writing does not obviously express the purpose or even the audience then it proves that my writing is lacking key details. However, I also realized that my writing has a good foundation to answer the questions I had asked myself while reading this chapter. Planning out my purpose and also the audience I intend to speak to has helped me organize details about my writing. This chapter has been helpful because it caused me to examine my own writing and what should be added or further explained.


bottom of page