top of page

Blog Post 6

While reading/listening to Consider the Lobster, by David Foster Wallace I recognized many descriptive details. The details began as describing the Maine Lobster Festival. From the events that take place during the festival and the variety of lobster dishes available. As I read deeper into the article I realized the elaborate detail that he spoke about lobsters. For example, he mentioned facts (or not facts) about lobsters’ nervous system or the philosophy of whether the lobster could feel pain or not. All these details made it seem likely that Foster had to perform a lot of research to construct this article. Which allows this article to be seen as a research paper. However, this seems to be unique to the genre of “research”. What’s unique is that he seems to incorporate ways that allow the reader to self reflect. For example, he asks the question “Is it all just a matter of individual choice?”. (Wallace 60). When reading that question I began asking myself if I thought performing the act of boiling lobster’s was an okay thing to do. Of course my initial thought was that it seems very cruel and who could go through that process. However, I am not vegetarian or vegan so I still consume all these foods that involve the killing or even sometimes torture of animals. Even though I have seen video pop up on social media of these cruel things I do nothing to change the act. I tend to not think about it and ignore the fact of what has to happen in order for me to consume some foods. It may be because of selfishness that I choose not to make a change. I enjoy steak, chicken and many other meats and would hate to go without them in my diet. So therefore, reading this makes me think about all the ways that many food is produced, but I still somehow continue to enjoy it when these things are not considered.


bottom of page