top of page

Blog Post 7

When trying to decide which chapter would be most beneficial for me to read while preparing for Project 2 I decided information in Chapter 7, Integrating & Documenting Sources, may be valuable. In the beginning of Chapter 7 it mentions information about incorporating sources in my writing. A detail that stuck out to me was to summarize passages “sparingly”. (Braziller/ Kleinfeld 370). This is important because with using too much summarizing I would not be creating my own ideas and would basically be copying other people’s work. Summarizing should be used as a tool to justify points within my own writing. Similarly, as mentioned in Chapter 7, I noted that I do not want to quote too much and that a quote should be used only if it is relevant and creates an impact within my writing. If a quote does not quite fit these qualities than I should consider paraphrasing or summarizing. (Braziller/ Kleinfeld 372). The chapter also included some pretty important details about paraphrasing. For example, even though it may seem obvious, it is important that when paraphrasing one should offer details “in the context of the author’s main argument”. (Braziller/ Kleinfeld 376). This was important to me because sometimes I may find a piece of a source important to my writing, but accidentally leave out an important aspect of that the author included in their work. The chapter then went on talking about ways a source should be properly cited. Heading into project 2 I believe this chapter has provided me with information to improve my writing.


bottom of page