top of page

Annotated Bibliography (Recent)

Austin Balon

Mat Wenzel

ENC 2135

20 July 2017

Annotated Bibliography

Fitzgerald, Bret. “The Psychology of Motivation”. Fitness Business Pro. April 10, 2006.

  • In, “The Psychology of Motivation” it talks about the “activation” or getting an individual to go to the gym or exercise.” Then it backs that up by saying that the individual must have an “emotional reward.” This is where the source applies to my writing. I believe that those watching the videos of Steve Cook are given this reward or goal to shoot for. When seeing the success of Steve Cook in this industry it can be inspiring. This may cause an individual to set goals in order to make themselves more successful or just to improve their health.

Haridakis, Paul. Hanson, Gary. “Social interaction and co-viewing with youtube:blending mass communication reception and social connection”. Journal Broadcasting & Electronic Media, 53.2, June, 2009, pp. 317.

  • This is one of my scholarly sources that was used within my writing. This source talked about the motivations individuals have towards watching YouTube and why it may be becoming so popular. I used this in my writing to compare YouTube to television. This comparison helped developed my ideas of how YouTube is becoming a popular form of entertainment, but also includes community because of its social abilities.

Miller, William R.; Rollnick, Stephen. “Motivational Interviewing, Third Edition.” Part 1. pp. 1.

  • Part 1 of this writing is titled, “What is motivational interviewing?”. This section talks about how a person may be motivated or what causes an individual to become motivated. One question that is asked about motivation is, “Why would I want to learn this and how would I use it?”. This question is important because those who are viewing fitness videos may be wondering how the video could be beneficial to what they are trying to do. So, when a Fitness vlogger is able to provide viewers with quality information that is beneficial to fitness it causes one to continue watching. This is a reason Steve Cook is successful with his work.

Milyavskaya, Marina. “Inspired to get there: The effects of trait and goal inspiration on goal process.” Personality and Individual Differences, vol. 51, Issue 1, Jan. 2012, pp.56-60.

  • In this journal I specifically took a look at the first section called “inspiration”. This section talks about the study of motivation, but also makes the point that one characteristic of motivation being, “inspiration is brought on by some idea or person instead of occurring without any apparent cause.” Noting that a lot of individuals are inspired through the content that Steve Cook provides in his videos this quote provided direct evidence that individuals can be motivated by a person. This source is another example used to help develop the idea or them within my writing.

“Social Comparisons in Novel Situations.” Social Comparisons in Novel SituationsPersonality and Social Psychology Bulletin - Penelope Lockwood, Sarah C. Shaughnessy, Jennifer L. Fortune, Man-On Tong, 2012, journals.sagepub.com/doi/full/10.1177/0146167212447234. Accessed 19 July 2017.

  • From this source I was able to use a quote that helped develop a point in my writing. I used the quote, “people who are seeking a role model may compare their own abilities with those of a superior other to gain information on how to improve their own circumstances in the future.” This worked perfectly into my writing as I could use as evidence to why individuals enjoy watching fitness vloggers such as, Steve Cook. So, with this quote I had the ability to further prove my point.

swoldiernation. “Disappointed In Myself | BIG Strength Progression 01.” YouTube, YouTube, 10 Apr. 2017, www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPBSpslINN8. Accessed 19 July 2017.

  • This video helped me form conclusions about Steve Cook within my writing. Forming these conclusions helped answer my question to why Steve Cook stands out compared to other Fitness Vloggers. This video specifically shows the transparency that he shows to his fans. It proves that he’s not always going to put on this persona to remain positive. During this video he talks about how he has been of his game, but intends to improve it. I believe this can be pretty motivational to his viewers to see that even someone as successful as him has moments that are not so great.

Swoldiernation. "A Message You All Need To Hear." YouTube. YouTube, 13 Jan. 2017. Web. 17 July 2017.

  • This video was used as a large staple in my writing. Since in the video Steve Cook expressed his passion for finding his purpose and utilizing it to benefit those of the fitness community, I was able to develop many ideas off of this video. In my writing I had used quotes from this video more than once because of their importance to my topic. Which is what makes Steve Cook stand out among other fitness vloggers and why has he been such a motivational figure in my life. This video and some research has been able to help provide me with answer to that question. Although, I do believe it is necessary to perform more research, in order to, develop my topic.

Swoldiernation. "Steve Cook." YouTube. YouTube, n.d. Web. 17 July 2017.

  • This source was used to provide a statistic of Steve Cook’s popularity on YouTube. The number ,even though it may change, was 799,569 subscribers. This helped prove the point that Steve Cook has been able to entertain and impact a lot of individuals. It also proved that he has been very successful with his YouTube career.

  • The most impactful source used in my writing was my interview with Steve Cook. Even though I did not interview him recently I had the opportunity of meeting him in person and part of our conversation was recorded by someone else on my phone. This allowed me to use information from our conversation into my writing. This conversation was important in my writing as it help conclude my thoughts by mentioning how Steve Cook has inspired me personally. The quote I used was, “If you believe in something deep down in your heart. People always told me you will never make a living here; you will never do that. So, if you really just believe in what you are doing; that is the name of the game”. I believe this was a great piece to include because it was a personal message that affected me directly, but it also helped prove a point that was made prior in the writing.


bottom of page